fbpx

Au Pair adventure in the UK

Hi! My name is Iris M. I’m 21 years old and I’m from Barcelona, Spain. I started my adventure as an Au Pair 6 months ago in England, in the Devon part of Devon, in Clayhidon.

Clayhidon.

It has been with the best family I could dream of, which has become part of my family.

I wanted to be an Au Pair because for me being with children is wonderful, I love that environment, they create an atmosphere of pure happiness and I wanted to live that experience of living with a family from a different country, with a different culture, different language, different everything. Although not everything is always rosy and there have been difficult moments.

My girls have been like two little sisters to me. England is very different from Spain, but I have known how to adapt, the beginning was difficult but the truth is that it has become an unforgettable experience for me. I take my family from England in my heart.

I am studying ESOL at Exeter College, I think this is the best place where my family could look for a course and I am very happy with the classes, I have learnt a lot and I can see my evolution with English. Besides, the people in the class are great! I have made a great group with people from other countries who are living in England. I have also done another group with other Au Pairs in London and we spent unforgettable days, I love it because there are people from all countries and then we are forced to speak the language we have in common which is English and so I can practice it even more.

Thanks to this travel experience, I gained more confidence in myself to know and relate to the people of the world and also to be more independent.

After this experience, I think that travelling educates and if you like travelling and children, this is the best way to learn a language, to know and to know how to adapt to another culture.

I will keep in touch with my family in England because they are part of me. The memories will stay with me for the rest of my life.

London Eyes
Au Pair in London

Iris M – Clayhidon (UK) – June 2021